Congratulations to our 2023 Yearbook Contest winners!

Congratulations to our 2023 Yearbook Contest winners!

Illinois yearbook staffs in 2022-23 captured the rituals, milestones, drama, laughs and excitement of high school life in memorable fashion.

In recognition of their work, the Illinois Journalism Education Association is proud to announce the winners of the 2023 IJEA Yearbook Contest:

Division 1 | Enrollment up to 199 | Results
• Division 2 | Enrollment 200 to 275 | Results
Division 3 | Enrollment 276 to 620 | Results
Division 4 | Enrollment 621 to 1,249 | Results
Division 5 | Enrollment 1,250 to 2,249 | Results
Division 6 | Enrollment 2,250 and greater | Results

The books were judged in eight individual categories: copy writing, divider pages, graphics, layout & design, overall coverage of school year, overall coverage of sports, photography and theme development.

Books earned points based on how they placed in each category:

• First place in a category = 5 points
• Second place in a category = 4 points
• Third place in a category = 3 points
• Honorable mention in a category = 1 point

The three books with the highest scores in each division received first, second and third place for Overall General Excellence in their respective divisions. Other books in each division received honorable mention as recommended by judges.

The judges were drawn from the ranks of experienced journalists, teachers and advisers. Judging in each category was guided by criteria used in similar contests nationwide.

Congratulations to our winners for overall general excellence!

Division 1 | Overall General Excellence | Top Three

• 1st: Okawville HS | Timepiece | Dana Donovan, adviser
• 2nd: Greenfield HS | Shere Khan | Angie Brown, adviser
• 3rd: Villa Grove HS | Vade Mecum | Brian W. Cordes, adviser

From left to right: The top overall Division 1 yearbook, Okawville High School’s Timepiece; second place overall, Greenfield High School’s Shere Khan; and third place overall, Villa Grove High School’s Vade Mecum.

Division 2 | Overall General Excellence | Top Three

• 1st: Galena HS | GHS Ship’s Log | Susan Bookless, adviser
• 2nd: Brown County HS | The Rambler | Courtney Rayborn, adviser
• 3rd: Regina Dominican HS | The Star | Kathleen Houston, adviser

From left to right: The top overall Division 2 yearbook, Galena High School’s GHS Ship’s Log; second place overall, Brown County High School’s The Rambler; and third place overall, Regina Dominican’s The Star.

Division 3 | Overall General Excellence | Top Three

• 1st: Richmond-Burton Community HS | Endeavor | Beth Marshall, adviser
• 2nd: Meridian HS | Meridian Moments | TillieAnn Steele, adviser
• 3rd: Pittsfield HS | The Saukee | Laura Shade, adviser

From left to right: The top overall Division 3 yearbook, Richmond-Burton Community High School’s Endeavor; second place overall, Meridian High School’s Meridian Moments; and third place overall, Pittsfield High School’s The Saukee.

Division 4 | Overall General Excellence | Top Three

• 1st: University of Chicago Laboratory HS | U-Highlights | Jayna Rumble, adviser
• 2nd: Carbondale HS | DIAL | Brandi Jones, adviser
• 3rd: Mt. Zion HS | Zionoiz | Amanda Renshaw, adviser

From left to right: The top overall Division 4 yearbook, the University of Chicago Laboratory High School’s U-Highlights; second place overall, Carbondale High School’s DIAL; and third place overall, Mt. Zion High School’s Zionoiz.

Division 5 | Overall General Excellence | Top Four (tie for second place)

• 1st: Prospect HS | CREST | Nicole Stoltz, adviser
• 2nd (tie): Glenwood HS | Mnemosyne | Patti Kaylor, adviser
• 2nd (tie): Pekin HS | Pekinian | Alyson Smith, adviser
• 3rd: Downers Grove North HS | The Cauldron | Kathy Smith, adviser

From left to right: The top overall Division 5 yearbook, Prospect High School’s CREST; tied for second place overall, Glenwood High School’s Mnemosyne and Pekin High School’s Pekinian; and third place overall, Downers Grove North High School’s The Cauldron.

Division 6 | Overall General Excellence | Top Three

• 1st: Glenbrook South HS | Etruscan | Brenda Field, adviser
• 2nd: Edwardsville HS | The Tiger | Amanda Thrun, adviser
• 3rd: Oswego East HS | Wolf’s Eye | Colleen Calvey, adviser

From left to right: The top overall Division 6 yearbook, Glenbrook South High School’s Etruscan; second place overall, Edwardsville High School’s The Tiger; and third place overall, Oswego East’s Wolf’s Eye.

Schools could submit their 2022-23 yearbooks up to the mid-November deadline, ensuring that fall-delivery books were included in the judging. This was the third year in the contest’s history in which advisers submitted their entry forms online.

Congratulations to all of our contest participants! We are proud of the amazing work you do each year throughout Illinois. Best of luck on your continuing coverage of the current school year; we can’t wait to see next year’s entries!


Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All Illinois JEA Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *