Janet Levin, who has advised The Correspondent newspaper at John Hersey High School in Arlington Heights for 30 years, receives the news that she has won the IJEA’s highest honor for a journalism educator: the James A Tidwell Award.

Hersey adviser Janet Levin receives honor

The long-time journalism educator has earned the 2015 James A. Tidwell Award for Excellence in Scholastic Media Education.

April 17, 2015

John Hersey High School journalism adviser Janet Levin, MJE, has been named as the 2015 James A. Tidwell Award winner for Excellence in Scholastic Media Education.

Sponsored by the Illinois Journalism Education Association and Eastern Illinois University, the award’s purpose is to honor the challenging and inspirational work that journalism educators do in their classrooms and newsrooms each day.

According to Mike Doyle, CJE, an IJEA board member and retired journalism adviser, “Janet was genuinely surprised to see me with flowers and news of her award.”

The honor was presented to Levin during her newspaper class, and along with her students, fellow faculty joined in.

“Her colleagues brought in a cake as well, and it was nice to see such support from them,” Doyle said. “James [Tidwell] would have been proud.”

The award is in memory of James A. Tidwell, former chair of the Journalism Department at  Eastern Illinois University and a longtime supporter of scholastic journalism, who was instrumental in starting the Illinois Journalism Education Association.

Levin will be recognized at the IHSA Journalism State Advisers’ Breakfast on May 1 at Eastern Illinois University.

To see the 2014 winner, go to this link about Mike Doyle.

The celebration cake for Janet Levin, 2015 winner of IJEA’s James A. Tidwell Award.


Janet Levin is surrounded by her students after receiving word that she won the 2015 James A. Tidwell Award for excellence in scholastic journalism education.
Leave a Comment

Illinois JEA • Copyright 2024 • FLEX WordPress Theme by SNOLog in

Comments (0)

All Illinois JEA Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *