• IJEA membership is now open for the 2024-25 school year! Use our online form or PDF to join for only $25.
  • Our 2024 Yearbook Contest is now accepting entries through Oct. 15 — get recognition for your students' great work!
  • Save the date! Our 2024 Fall Conference will be held Sept. 20 at Illinois State University — more info on the way!
Illinois Journalism Education Association, 2501 Chatham Road, Suite 200, Springfield, IL 62704

Illinois JEA

Illinois Journalism Education Association, 2501 Chatham Road, Suite 200, Springfield, IL 62704

Illinois JEA

Illinois Journalism Education Association, 2501 Chatham Road, Suite 200, Springfield, IL 62704

Illinois JEA

IJEA Friend of Scholastic Journalism Award

ijea lighter resized2

Honoring Those Committed to Student Media

Online Nomination Form

Submission Deadline: May 1

Each year, the IJEA honors an individual or group that has demonstrated outstanding commitment to scholastic journalism. In selecting honorees, the IJEA seeks to recognize those individuals and groups who have supported our mission in the following ways:

• By assisting IJEA and/or its advisers/members in promoting high standards in scholastic journalism and in elevating the status of media programs in secondary education.
• By supporting opportunities for interaction of student staffs, teachers and those in the professional media whenever possible.
• By serving as an exemplary model for students in secondary media programs.


Annual Deadline: May 1

The award is presented at the annual IJEA Fall Conference held at the University of Illinois. Past recipients include the Illinois Press Foundation, the Illinois High School Association, newspaper publishers and association directors.


How to Nominate a Candidate

You may nominate a candidate by using our online nomination form below. Please note that we no longer use PDF forms for award nominations.


Online Form

Click here to access the online nomination form for this award.


Previous Winners

Jon Kauffman

Yearbook representative (now retired), Walworth Publishing Company; for his decades-long commitment to high school journalists and their advisers, for his support of the IJEA Fall Conference and the IHSA Journalism Tournament, and for his contributions to the strength of scholastic journalism in Illinois

Dr. Sally Renaud

Executive director, Illinois Journalism Education Association, 2005-2019; professor and chair, Department of Journalism, Eastern Illinois University

Lynn Holley-Bruns

Lecturer of journalism, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign; executive director of the IJEA Fall Conference, 2004-2017

Linda Jones

Dean of undergraduate studies, Roosevelt University, and executive director, Scholastic Press Association of Chicago

College of Media and Department of Journalism, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Award accepted by Jan Slater, dean, and Lynn Holley, UIUC journalism faculty member and executive director of the IJEA Fall Conference.

Susie Knoblauch

Journalism tournament administrator, Illinois High School Association

Dann Gire

Film critic, Daily Herald (Arlington Heights)
NOTE: Watch Dann’s acceptance speech here.

Karen Waldron

Administrative aide, School of Journalism, Southern Illinois University Carbondale

George Q. Wilson

Publisher, Harrisburg Daily Register


No award given.

Bruce Dold

Editorial page editor, Chicago Tribune

Dr. W. Manion Rice

Professor emeritus, School of Journalism, Southern Illinois University Carbondale

Richard P. Johns

Executive director (retired), Quill and Scroll Society

Illinois High School Association

Award accepted by Marty Hickman, IHSA executive director, and Susie Knoblauch, IHSA administrator for journalism.

Illinois Press Foundation

Award accepted by Kim Filson, IPF director of education services.


Activate Search
IJEA Friend of Scholastic Journalism Award