Illinois JEA

IJEA Administrator of the Year Award

ijea lighter resized2

Honoring Administrators Who Stand Up for Student Media

Online Nomination Form

Submission Deadline: March 15

Each year, the Illinois Journalism Education Association honors an administrator who has demonstrated outstanding commitment to scholastic journalism and a free press. IJEA seeks to honor those who have:

• Actively supported advisers and journalism teachers
• Actively supported opportunities for interaction with student staffs, advisers and teachers
• Cultivated and maintained positive working relations with student staffs, advisers and teachers
• Fostered an awareness of educational and career opportunities in journalism and media
• Recognized outstanding performance in and outstanding support for scholastic media


Annual Deadline: March 15

The award is presented at the annual All-State Journalism luncheon in June, held in Springfield in conjunction with the Illinois Press Foundation. IJEA members are encouraged to submit nominations.


How to Nominate a Candidate

You may nominate a candidate by using our online nomination form below. Please note that we no longer use PDF forms for award nominations.


Online Form

Click here to access the online nomination form for this award.


IJEA Administrator of the Year Award Winners

Twelve administrators have received this honor, including two in 2014. Help us expand this roster by nominating an administrator you know who advocates and defends a strong student press!

Eric Hurelbrink

Meridian High School (Meridian, Macon County)

Brett Elliott

Richwoods High School (Peoria, Peoria County)

2014 (two winners)
Mark Eckmann

Belvidere North High School (Belvidere, Boone County)

Michele Sinclar

Mattoon High School (Mattoon, Coles County)

Dave Johnson

Huntley High School (Huntley, McHenry County)

Tina Cantrell

John Hersey High School (Arlington Heights, Cook County)

Charles McCormick

Kaneland Community High School (Maple Park, Kane County)

Richard Kirchner

Belvidere North High School (Belvidere, Boone County)

Fred Schouten

Reavis High School (Burbank, Cook County)

Thomas Campbell

Taylorville High School (Taylorville, Christian County)

Kassie Patton

University of Illinois Laboratory High School (Urbana, Champaign County)

Jim Butler

Harrisburg High School (Harrisburg, Saline County)

Charles Dill

Johnsburg High School (Johnsburg, McHenry County)


Activate Search
IJEA Administrator of the Year Award