Congratulations to our 2019 Yearbook Contest winners!

January 6, 2020

Throughout Illinois, no matter the size of the school or program, yearbook staffs and advisers created wonderful journalism as they told the stories of their 2018-19 school year.

In recognition of that work, the Illinois Journalism Education Association is proud to announce the winners of the 2019 IJEA Yearbook Contest:

Division 1 | Enrollment 249 or fewer | Results
Division 2 | Enrollment 250 to 399 | Results
Division 3 | Enrollment 400 to 639 | Results
Division 4 | Enrollment 640 to 1,099 | Results
Division 5 | Enrollment 1,100 to 2,099 | Results
Division 6 | Enrollment 2,100 or more | Results

Leading the way were the Overall General Excellence winners in each of the contest’s six enrollment divisions:

Division 1 | Brown County H.S.
Division 2 | Meridian H.S. and Pittsfield H.S. (tie)
Division 3 | University of Chicago Laboratory H.S.
Division 4 | Richmond-Burton H.S.
Division 5 | Triad H.S.
Division 6 | Glenbrook South H.S.

Schools were invited to submit their 2018-19 yearbooks up to the Nov. 15 deadline, ensuring that fall-delivery books were included in the judging.

The books were judged in eight individual categories: copy writing, sports coverage, photography, graphics, divider pages, layout and design, theme development and coverage of the school year.

Books earned points based on how they placed in each category:

1st = 5 points
2nd = 4 points
3rd = 3 points
Honorable mention = 1 point

The top four point-scoring books in each division received first, second, third and honorable mention for Overall General Excellence in their respective divisions.

Dr. Sally Renaud, journalism professor at Eastern Illinois University and former IJEA executive director, administered the contest. Judges were drawn from the ranks of experienced journalists, teachers and advisers.

An enthusiastic congratulations to all yearbook staffs and advisers! We are proud of the amazing work you do each year throughout Illinois. Best of luck on your continuing coverage of the 2019-20 school year; we can’t wait to see next year’s entries!

2019 yearbook winers

Photos by Dr. Sally Renaud


Illinois JEA • Copyright 2023 • FLEX WordPress Theme by SNOLog in

Comments (0)

All Illinois JEA Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *